top of page

A Good Repenter



I've been reading through 1 Samuel the last few weeks. I love reading about the kings of Israel. Of course, my favorite would have to be David. The writer of acts calls him "A man after God's own heart." That's a mighty big title for someone who screwed up SO ROYALLY!


He had an affair, killed his lovers husband to cover up the fact that he got her pregnant. Even still, God loved David with a special love. Why?


Many years ago I heard a godly preacher ask the same question, then went on to answer it. He said, God loved David because he was a good repenter!


Repenter: one who repents Repent: to feel such sorrow for sin or fault as to be disposed to change one's

life for the better


All you have to do is read through Psalms to see that it's the truth.

"For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight..." psalms 51:3,4


"Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God..." Psalms 51:9,10 ...just to quote a couple of his repentant verses. I encourage you to read through all of Psalms 51.


It broke David's heart when he realized he had broken the Lord's. Sin should still break our hearts. Frustrate us too!


Side note: If sin in your life doesn't bring forth some kind of remorse, you may have a deeper spiritual problem.



We all screw up, we all mistakes. Should we strive everyday to live a more holy and pleasing life before the Lord? Most definitely! But isn't it good to know that in our times of weakness, He is just to forgive us our sins!


Let us strive today to be mindful and thoughtful of our words and actions, but if/when we fail, let us be good repenter, asking forgiveness, picking ourselves up and trying some more to be women "after God's own heart."


Blessings and HUGS! And TGIF!

No tags yet.
bottom of page