top of page

Know Jesus. Know Peace.

I remember the saying from way back when I was a little one in children’s church. I even had it written in one of my black, hard back Holy Bible’s that I’d take with me to

Sunday School.


No God, No peace. Know God, Know peace.


I know people get tired of me referring every problem back to a Jesus solution. My kids sure did. They’d bring me some truly difficult problem (more often I’d drag the problems out of them) and want me to give them answers that excluded, God, the Bible or prayer. They’d say, “Momma, why do you always have to bring up Jesus or the Bible?” This was while they were traveling through that most DREADED phase of adolescence, the rebellious stage. Staunchly rebelling against anything that stood in the way of what they wanted to do or to watch or to listen to or to wear or how to act. You see, they wanted a solution without having to bow down to sovereignty and deity of the problem solver himself, Jesus Christ.


This is my comfort in my affliction, that your promise gives me life.

Psalms 119:50


Doesn't that sound familiar! These days people are rioting for their brand of peace or their take on solutions to be heard, but we all know there's only One who can bring about the perfect solution, the perfect peace.


My answer to my kids question was always the same, "Because I’m only human, that’s why." I could never pretend to have all the answers outside of what I knew was the only source of truth. There are no good answers outside of Jesus Christ and God’s Word. I’ve been there, I’ve tried. I tried the worlds version of problem solving, with no results. I tried problem solving in my own power and that ALWAYS just made things worse. The fact of the matter is, there is only one source of true help. And yes, to get it, you have to humble yourself before His holiness and say, Lord, I don’t got this. I’m clueless. I can’t figure it out on my own. Then just sit back a watch his magnanimous problem solving skills take over.


How I wish the rest of the world knew how to tap into this kind of peace. The peace that only comes with a blessed assurance in a risen Lord. But until that day, which won’t be while we’re here on the earth, BTW, I’ll stand in the gap for them. I’ll continue to pray for a lost and dyeing world, who are eaten up with sin sickness and don't even know it. Many, who only know trouble and strife and no solutions. They seek peace but find only more strife. Only God! Only God!


The answers to life's problems can be found in God's Word.




No tags yet.
bottom of page